History and Overview School of Nursing and Programs


IWU initiated baccalaureate nursing education in 1972, graduating the first class in 1975. The program was approved by the Indiana State Board of Nursing.


Accreditation for the baccalaureate nursing program at IWU was effective December 1976 until December 31, 1999.


The graduate nursing program was initiated in 1982 as the result of a comprehensive needs assessment.


In 1993, the Division of Nursing Education In collaboration with Adult and Professional Studies (APS) began an RNBS Completion program for the practicing Registered Nurse.


A major in Primary Care was added to prepare nurse practitioners.


The Division of Nursing Education was accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). Membership is held in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. 


Graduate majors in Nursing Education and Nursing Administration were added Community Health Nursing was discontinued.


The Division of Nursing launched the Transition to Nursing (TTN) program.

The degrees offered were changed from a BS with a major in nursing to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN). The MS with a major in Nursing was changed to the Master of Science in Nursing (MSN).


The Division of Pre-licensure Nursing semester abroad in Zambia was initiated.

The Division of Post-licensure Nursing developed a Global Studies initiative in Ecuador for adult students.

A School of Nursing was organized with three divisions under the guidance of an Executive Director:


The first Dean was named for the School of Nursing.


The first dual degree offered by IWU was established between the School of Nursing, Division of Graduate Studies in Nursing and the School of Business Leadership: an MSN/MBA.

The Doctor of Nursing Practice degree was approved by the Higher Learning Commission.


The inaugural cohort for the DNP started in 2013.


The inaugural cohort of the ASN-MSN Program began. 


DNP Accredited by CCNE

Restructuring of SON


First Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner cohort admitted

The Division of Pre-licensure Nursing semester abroad in Haiti initiated


Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)

Indiana Wesleyan University offers three academic programs leading to a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degree:

The Pre-licensure and TTN programs are based on the IWU traditional campus in Marion, Indiana. The Post-licensure program operates 12 months a year, with classes offered in online, blended or onsite formats during the day or evening to accommodate enrollment of working nurses.

Graduate Nursing

Your Graduate Nursing Degree, whether a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) or Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) will prepare you to serve in a variety of settings, from the most prestigious hospitals to the vital needs of the mission field. Majors offered include the following:



The graduate programs operate 12 months a year. The Administration and Education majors are offered online; classes for the Nurse Practitioner majors require some onsite instruction in regional settings.

School of Nursing

Ott Hall of Sciences and Nursing
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953

IWU Nursing Magazine

View the SON Magazine

Last updated: 12/19/2016