IWU celebrates spring commencement

Indiana Wesleyan University will confer approximately 1,600 degrees on Saturday, April 28 in three ceremonies in the Chapel Auditorium on the main Marion campus. IWU-Marion undergraduate degrees will be conferred at the 10 a.m. ceremony. IWU-National and Global Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees will be conferred at the 2:30 p.m. ceremony. IWU-National and Global undergraduate degrees; Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN, Post-licensure) and Bachelor of Social Work (BSW); and all University graduate degrees, including Wesley Seminary degrees, will be conferred at the 6 p.m. ceremony.

Shirley Hoogstra will be the commencement speaker for all three ceremonies. Hoogstra currently serves as the seventh president of the Council for Christian Colleges & Universities (CCCU). In her position, she combines her zeal for the rule of law and her passion for Christian higher education. The CCCU’s outward-facing work at its intersection with government in Washington, D.C., calls upon Hoogstra’s authentic skills of listening, respecting and influencing leaders as she shares and promotes the importance of Christian colleges and universities as a part of a diverse, pluralistic system of higher education. In an era that has seen a rise in the value of individualism and a decrease in the value of formative communities, Hoogstra delights in highlighting the value and purpose of high quality, Christ-centered liberal arts education that shapes the heart, soul and mind.

Graduates will include the first students from the Doctor of Occupational Therapy program.

General admission tickets are required for the 10 a.m. ceremony only. Overflow seating is available for the 10 a.m. ceremony in the Phillippe Performing Arts Center. All ceremonies will be streamed live at indwes.edu/events/commencement/webcast.

IWU's next commencement ceremonies are scheduled for August 11.

Indiana Wesleyan University
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953