IWU Professor to Lead Indiana Superintendents

Dr. John T. Coopman

Dr. John T. Coopman of Indiana Wesleyan University's School of Educational Leadership (SoEL) has accepted the position of Executive Director of Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents, according to a press release from the IAPSS.

Coopman is an Associate Professor in the IWU College of Adult and Professional Studies, in the division of Advanced Studies for Teacher Leaders. He started working in school district administration in 1988 and has been a part of school communities in urban, suburban and rural districts. He has been a teacher, a coach, an assistant principal, a principal, an assistant superintendent and a superintendent. He was the 2008 District V Superintendent of the Year for the IAPSS when he was superintendent of Clark-Pleasant Community School Corporation.

Coopman spent 11 years as adjunct professor at Ball State University. He joined IWU's SoEL upon retiring from public school leadership in Indiana.

"I look forward to working with Dr. John Coopman, as his presence and leadership shall immediately benefit students, faculty, and school leaders across the state," said Ms. Mary Roberson, incoming President of the IAPSS.

Indiana Wesleyan University
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953