Governor of Indiana Honors IWU President

The Sagamore award

Indiana Wesleyan University President Dr. Henry L. Smith received the Sagamore of the Wabash award from the Governor of Indiana during IWU's spring 2013 commencement exercises on April 27 in Marion, Indiana.

The Sagamore award is one of the highest honors bestowed by the Governor of Indiana. Governors present it at their discretion as a personal tribute, often to individuals who have rendered a distinguished service to the state or to the governor. "Sagamore" is a term used by Algonquian Native Americans for a tribal chief or elder; the Wabash is the state river of Indiana.

"Now, therefore, recognizing his greatness and desiring to avail myself of his council," the award reads, "I do hereby appoint him a Chieftain upon my Staff with the Rank and Title of Sagamore of the Wabash."

State Senator Jim Banks, who represents District 17, presented the award on behalf of former Governor Mitch Daniels.

"His impact has been significant on this institution, but his impact on the entire state of Indiana has been significant as well," Banks said of Smith.

Sagamore recipients have included astronauts, presidents, ambassadors, artists, musicians, politicians and citizens who have contributed greatly to the state's heritage, according to the State of Indiana.

Smith will retire from the presidency of IWU on June 30, 2013 to assume the office of University Chancellor.

Indiana Wesleyan University
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953