Presidential Search Update

IWU nameplate

Appointed by the Board of Trustees, the Presidential Search Committee had its first meeting on October 29. Search Committee members are Karen Hollenbeck, chair, Don Cady, Lisa Dawson, Debbie Drake, Russ Gunsalus, Barry Hines, Ed Hoover, Jim Lo, Gary Ott, Petra Ray, Carl Shepherd and Aron Willis.

Confidentiality regarding candidate identities is of the utmost importance. Potential candidates in senior leadership roles may be deterred from making application without the assurance that their application will remain confidential. Consequently, each Search Committee member has signed a Confidentiality Agreement stating that all applicant information will be kept confidential during and after the search process. The Committee also decided to hire a firm to assist with the search process. Plans are to have a firm selected and prepared to begin accepting applications by early 2013.

Believing its work will only be successful as it is bathed in prayer, Committee members have committed to fasting and praying one meal a week during the search process. All IWU community members are invited to join the Committee in fasting and prayer.

An Advisory Committee, chaired by Ed Hoover, is being formed to provide an avenue for greater input from the IWU Community. Community members can expect to hear from one of the Committee members requesting input on some important issues.

The Search Committee plans to have the IWU President-elect assume his or her position on July 1, 2013.

Indiana Wesleyan University
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953