Media Communication Students Win Statewide Honors

communication students

Indiana Wesleyan University media communication students won 10 awards in the 2012 competition sponsored by the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters. IWU was second in the overall points for TV categories.

Matt Green received first place in the TV videography category for his feature story on a Wabash Motocross race that aired on the WIWU-TV Crossroads program. Crossroads also won first place in the TV newsmagazine category for an episode featuring stories by three IWU students. Jaclyn Heck, Amanda Johnson Green contributed the stories.

IWU also received first place in the TV news anchor category for an on-camera demonstration submitted by Chase Evans. He also was a contributor to the student newscast, Spectrum News, which won third place for TV newscast.

Several students won second place awards for TV news packages: Evans for a story on a local business; Heck for a feature on Marion ambulance drivers; and Josh Campbell, Russ Clark, Britney Holmberg and AJ Hoke for a promotional video produced for a Marion business.

In the radio competition, Tim Decker received second place in the radio sportscast category; Hoke won second place in the radio spot category; and Alisha Stevens received a third place in videography.

The Indiana Associations of School Broadcasters represents high schools, colleges and universities statewide.

Indiana Wesleyan University
4201 S. Washington St.
Marion, IN 46953