PreMed

PreMed is a huge word. It encompasses all of the pre-professional programs at IWU: Pre-Dentistry, Pre-Medicine, Pre-Occupational Therapy, Pre-Optometry, Pre-Pharmacy, Pre-Physical Therapy, Pre-Physician Assistant and Pre-Veterinary. This program covers so much because each of these professions requires a broad background in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics.

The PreMed program in Indiana Wesleyan University is not a major; rather, it is a program label that allows the faculty to carefully track your progress through your Bachelor's degree in preparation for one of the aforementioned professions in health care. Each of these professions requires significant education beyond your undergraduate years. IWU has a great record of placing our senior students in graduate programs around the country. To accomplish this, we carefully advise and mentor you as you progress through the courses that make up the PreMed program.

PreMed is rigorous. Indiana Wesleyan University alumni who pursue a Master's or graduate program report to us that they are among the best-prepared in their programs. Many graduate in the top 10% of their class and are selected for prestigious residency programs.

If you feel called to one of the health professions and are serious about learning, then PreMed might be for you. If you are searching premed schools in Indiana for a Christian university, you should contact us at 866-GO-TO-IWU for more information.

Contact Us

1-866-GO-TO-IWU

Visit Campus

Discover Campus Life for Yourself

 
Apply Now

Courses

One of the best ways to discover a degree program is to check out the course listings. By simply clicking on the course titles below, you can get a preview of the classes you will attend as a student at Indiana Wesleyan University.

The following courses are required of all students intending to pursue any of the pre-professional programs at IWU (Pre-Dentistry, Pre-Medicine, Pre-Occupational Therapy, Pre-Optometry, Pre-Pharmacy, Pre-Physical Therapy, Pre-Physician Assistant, or Pre-Veterinary):

Preview your classes

BIO-125,BIO-201,CHE-125,CHE-126,CHE-235,CHE-236,PHY-211,PHY-212,PMD-110,PMD-310
A program in Pre-Medical Science consists of a combination of the pre-medical science core courses AND the courses required for any other official university major. The Pre-Medical Science program leads to a Bachelor of Science degree and is designed to prepare the student for application to a medically related professional school. Some professional schools may require additional coursework of which the student should be informed before registration.

Faculty

Whether right out of grad school or after some years in the profession, IWU professors moved to the head of the class. Was it a passion for sharing the field of their dreams? Was it a divine prompting to make students their business? Or were they looking for a place where they could teach their profession and still share a profession of faith? No doubt it was all of these.

We invite you to come to campus and ask students what they think.

Matthew Kreitzer; PhD Professor; Biology matthew.kreitzer@indwes.edu View Profile
Stephen Conrad; MS, PhD Assoc Prof; Biology stephen.conrad@indwes.edu View Profile
Grace Ju Miller; MS, PhD Prof; Biology Grace.Miller@indwes.edu View Profile
Daniel Jones; DDS, PhD Professor; Biology dan.jones@indwes.edu View Profile
Mark Asnicar; MS, PhD Asst Prof; Biology mark.asnicar@indwes.edu View Profile
Russell Schwarte; PhD Asst Prof; Biology russell.schwarte@indwes.edu View Profile
W Matthew Sattley; PhD Assoc Prof; Biology matthew.sattley@indwes.edu View Profile
Dennis Brinkman; PhD Professor; Chemistry | Assoc Dean; Physical and Applied Science dennis.brinkman@indwes.edu View Profile
John Lakanen; PhD Assoc Prof; Chemistry | Div Chair; Natural Sciences john.lakanen@indwes.edu View Profile
 
Apply Now