The Political Science faculty members are committed to understanding the problems and theories of politics. These instructors are engaged in explaining and influencing politics by engagement in the classroom, in research and presentation at national conferences, and in the real world. All of our professors are highly qualified and have advanced degrees in one or more of the subfields of Political Science. Our faculty members wrestle with the conflict that often exists between faith and politics, and they teach in such a way that students are encouraged to engage in this same process. They strive to encourage thoughtful Christian reflection in the pursuit of public service and participation in politics.

Click on a faculty member's name below to learn more about that person.

David Bartley; MA, PhD Professor; History | Div Chair; Social Sciences david.bartley@indwes.edu


Dr. Bartley is a second generation IWU alumnus, who grew up in The Wesleyan Church. His associations include Young America's Foundation, Intercollegiate Scholastic Institute, and James Madison Fellowship Foundation. He has conducted travel courses to Washington, D.C., Great Britain, and China, and now serves as college faculty chairperson and Faculty Senate president.

Educational Background:

  • A.A., 1977, Montgomery Junior College
  • B.S., 1979, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • M.A., 1982, Butler University
  • Ph.D., 1989, Ball State University


  • Millennial Students
  • American Constitutional Heritage
  • Early American History
  • Intellectual and Social History

Contact Us


Visit Campus

Discover Campus Life for Yourself